Groundwork announces Community Awards class of 2019

Community charity Groundwork has today announced the 30 finalists that are in with a chance of winning a national Groundwork Community Award.

Over 750 nominations were received and whittled down to three finalists in 10 categories. All 30 finalists will also be in with a chance to win the ‘People’s Choice Award’ that will be decided by the public via an online vote that launches at the end of September.

Categories including Best Community Group, Best Community Contribution to Health and Wellbeing and Young Community Leader of the Year will be announced at a ceremony in London on Thursday 21 November 2019 hosted by BBC presenter and Groundwork Ambassador, Georgina Burnett.

Nominations were assessed by a panel of independent experts assessing the impact they have made in the local area.

The Groundwork Community Awards were launched by the charity in 2017 to honour grassroots community groups making a big difference to everyone’s quality of life, to recognise community leaders who often get little recognition and support and to share good practice with the thousands of other groups active across the country.

Graham Duxbury, national CEO of Groundwork, said:

We’re delighted to have received so many entries to this year’s awards. It’s always humbling to hear about the dedication and creativity of community groups – and the impact their work has on so many people.

As a charity working to support grassroots groups, we know how difficult it can be to secure funds, recruit volunteers and keep vital projects and services going. We also know that many groups are having to respond to increasing levels of need, particularly in areas where other local services have been cut or closed. That’s why we need to do all we can to celebrate the achievements of those working tirelessly to make life better for others and help them share their stories with people who can support what they do.


Community Group of the Year
Liverpool Six Community Association – Everton, Liverpool
Springboard Opportunity Group – Clevedon – North Somerset
Stevenage Against Domestic Abuse – Stevenage, Hertfordshire

Community Leader of the Year
Anna Kennedy – Uxbridge, London
Danny Barnes – London
Garry Wakeham – Honiton, Devon

Young Community Leader of the Year
Bethan Owen – Bodelwyddan, Wales
Harry Deacon – Falmouth, Cornwall
Mima Letts – March, Cambridgeshire

Best Community Group Contribution to Health and Wellbeing
Blood Bikes Scotland – Edinburgh
Reach Out; Start to End Suicide – Salford, Greater Manchester
Taylor Made Dreams – Crowborough, East Sussex

Best Community Garden or Greenspace
Allotment Angels Of Includeme2 Club: Reidvale Community Allotments – Glasgow Barrhead, Glasgow
Auchinleck Community Development Initiative – Auchinleck, East Ayrshire
Friends of Friarwood Valley Gardens – Pontefract, West Yorkshire

Best Community Group Contribution to Environmental Sustainability
I’m Back Caring – Clean the River – Dalkeith, Midlothian
St Wilfrid’s CE Primary School – Northenden, Manchester
Surrey Wildlife Trust – Pirbright, Surrey

Best Community Group Contribution to Community Cohesion
Connors Toy Library – Portsea, Portsmouth
Heston West Big Local – Hounslow, London
Vee’s Place – Prescot, Merseyside

Best Community Group Contribution to Education or Employment
Endeavour Woodcrafts CIC – Ferryhill, County Durham
Oakwell Rise Primary Academy – Barnsley, South Yorkshire
The Family Trust – Maidstone, Kent

Best Community Group Contribution to Sport and Physical Activity
Bexley Mencap – Bexleyheath, London
Community Integrated Care Learning Disability Super League – Widnes, Cheshire
Gympanzees – Henleaze, Bristol

Best Community Partnership with Business
Home-Start Glasgow North – Glasgow
Market Rasen Station Community Project CIC – North Hykeham, Lincolnshire
The Grange Centre – Leatherhead, Surrey

The Groundwork Community Awards 2019 are sponsored by Avison Young, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Fields in Trust, Firmdale Hotels, M&S and Tesco.

For more information, please email or call 0121 237 5815.